02 June 2014 The 26th Molieres Night was held on June 2, 2014 at the Theatre des Folies Bergere and was broadcasted on France 2

The Moliere Award (Les Molieres) is given each year for French productions and performances in live French theatre. It is considered the highest theatre honor in France, equivalent to the UK Olivier Award and the US Tony Award in theatre live productions. The award is named after the seventeeth-century French dramatist Moliere.

The Molieres Night was created in 1987, as it was decided that the time had come for the theatre people to salute and honor the theatre people. Directors of private theatres, critics and various personalities in this field, decided on the creation of the Molieres ceremony. It was first held at the Paris theatre Chatelet. The founders were united to create the Professional and Artistic Theatre Association (APAT) and asked Georges Cravenne to take care of the ceremony. The award was created by Cravenne, who had also created the Cesar award for cinema. Later on, personalities from the public theatre joined the Board of Directors.

Since 2006, the term “best” was abandoned, since the objective of the Molieres award was to distinguish the talents of that year’s productions. After a year’s silence in 2012, the ceremony was held again in 2013 under the title “Theatre Prizes” (Palmares du theatre), however, it was not organised by the Association Les Molieres. The following year, Les Molieres came back and, under the Presidency of Jean-Marc Dumontet, organised the 2014 Molieres Night. Today the Molieres Academy counts about 1900 voters: comedians, directors, theatre directors, producers, broadcasters, authors, translators, critics, costume designers, etc.

Μore information on the event, the nominees and the prizewinners here